The Paul Hornung Award

Paul Hornung Award Press Releases

WEEK 2: Honor Roll Threesome Stand Out in High-Scoring Games

Rivalry, Double Overtime and NCAA Record Games Filled Week Two

Louisville, Ky. –September 12, 2016 – Week Two ended up to be a weekend of big numbers, with each of the three players who made the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll accounting for more than 200 all-purpose yards catching, rushing and returning kicks.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. For the first time in its seven-year span, the Paul Hornung Award is an associate member of the prestigious National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The winner of this year’s award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2017, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky.

read more

WEEK 1: Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll Foursome Make Game-Defining Plays in Season Openers

Most Versatile Player Award Joins National College Football Awards Association

Louisville, KY –September 6, 2016 – Four players named to the Paul Hornung Award Week One Honor Roll each had game-changing plays that led to his team’s success. Georgia wide receiver Isaiah McKenzie scored his first career touchdown to close the scoring gap in the second half against North Carolina; Houston defensive back Brandon Wilson returned a missed field goal for a touchdown against Oklahoma; Boise State wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck completed a 48-yard pass for a touchdown against Louisiana Lafayette; and Stanford running back / returner Christian McCaffrey ran for two touchdowns against Kansas State, including the game-winner

read more

Paul Hornung Award has been granted associate membership in the National College Football Awards Association

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse has been granted associate membership in the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The announcement was made today by NCFAA President Mark Wolpert and Louisville Sports Commission President and CEO Karl Schmitt, Jr. The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) founded the Award in 2010, which is presented annually to the most versatile player in major college football

read more

David Baker, President of Pro Football Hall of Fame, to Speak at Paul Hornung Award Banquet

Louisville, Ky. – February 18, 2016 – The Louisville Sports Commission announced that David Baker, Pro Football Hall of Fame President, will be the featured speaker at the sixth annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health. The banquet will be held Feb. 25 at the Galt House in downtown Louisville.

The banquet will honor Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey, who earned the 2015 Paul Hornung Award by setting an NCAA single season record with 3,864 all-purpose yards as a running back, slot receiver, quarterback and return specialist. He will be joined at the banquet by his parents, Lisa and Ed McCaffrey, and former Award winners Shaq Thompson, Brandon Boykin and Owen Marecic.

read more

2015 Paul Hornung Award Winner Christian McCaffrey Named Rose Bowl MVP

Louisville, Ky. – January 2, 2016 – Stanford sophomore Christian McCaffrey, winner of the 2015 Paul Hornung Award presented to the most versatile player in major college football, continued his record-setting season last night by leading the Cardinal to a 45-16 win over Iowa in the Rose Bowl.

The Paul Hornung Award is presented by Texas Roadhouse and owned and operated by the Louisville Sports Commission. Previous winners are Shaq Thompson, Univ. of Washington / Carolina Panthers; Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU / New York Giants; Tavon Austin, WVU / St. Louis Rams; Brandon Boykin, Georgia / Pittsburgh Steelers; and Owen Marecic, Stanford / Stanford Medical School.

read more