The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 11: Five Players from Three Conferences Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week 11

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse to Most Versatile Player in Major College Football

Louisville, Ky. – Nov. 14, 2023 – Five players representing the Pac-12, ACC and Big 10 were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for their performances in Week 11 of the college football season. Making the list are Travis Hunter, Colorado; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State; Sione Vaki, Utah; Dan Villari, Syracuse; and Isaiah Williams, Illinois.

For his performance ASU’s upset win over UCLA, Skattebo will be honored by the National College Football Awards Association as the Paul Hornung Award Player-of-the-Week.

Colorado sophomore defensive back/wide receiver Travis Hunter continued to lead the nation in participation by playing 114 snaps on offense, defense and special teams in the Buffaloes’ 34-31 home loss to Arizona. On offense, Hunter caught five passes for 74 yards and two first downs. On defense, he recorded six tackles, a tackle for loss and a pass deflection.

Arizona State sophomore running back/punter/wildcat quarterback Cameron Skattebo touched the ball 19 times four different ways and accounted for both touchdowns in the Sun Devils’ 17-7 upset win over UCLA. Skattebo’s 25-yard touchdown pass late in the third quarter proved to be the game-winner and his 17-yard, fourth quarter scoring run put the game out of reach. He had 12 carries, three receptions, threw three passes and punted once for 50 yards.

Utah sophomore defensive back/running back Sione Vaki played a total of 70 snaps on defense and offense and scored once in the Utes’ 35-28, heartbreaking road loss to Washington. On offense, Vaki carried the ball once and caught four passes for 67 yards, including a 52-yard sprint to paydirt. On defense, he made four tackles and recorded a pass deflection, a sack and a tackle for loss.

Syracuse sophomore tight end Dan Villari filled in at quarterback due to team injuries and led the Orange to a 28-13 home win over Pitt. Villari carried the ball 17 times for 154 yards, including a 28-yard touchdown run from the wildcat quarterback position early in the fourth quarter that put the game out of reach. He completed three of five passes and accounted for six first downs from scrimmage.

Illinois junior wide receiver/return specialist Isaiah Williams touched the ball 14 times three different ways for 205 all-purpose yards and two scores, including the game-winner, in the Illini’s 48-45 overtime win over Indiana. Williams caught nine passes for 200 yards, including a 42-yard scoring strike in the third quarter and a 21-yard, walk-off touchdown reception in overtime. He also carried the ball twice, returned a punt and fair caught two punts.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes.

2023 Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

  • Week 1: Zachariah Branch, USC; Erik Brooks, Fresno State; Malik Fleming, Houston; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Jayden McGowan, Vanderbilt; Jalen McMillian, Washington
  • Week 2: Phillip Brooks, Kansas State; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Braden Smith, Cincinnati; Lincoln Victor, Washington State
  • Week 3: Jacob De Jesus, UNLV; Tory Horton, Colorado State; Parker Kingston, BYU; DJ Lundy, FSU’ Michael Wiley, Arizona
  • Week 4: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Jawhar Jordan, Louisville; Will Shipley, ACC; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State
  • Week 5: Ismail Mahdi, Texas State; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State; Jacquez Stuart, Toledo; Blake Watson, Memphis
  • Week 6: Silas Bolden, Oregon State; Ron Cook, Jr., Buffalo; Jalil Farooq, Oklahoma; Keegan Jones, UCLA
  • Week 7: Travis Hunter, Colorado; Brennan Presley, Oklahoma State; Sione Vaki, Utah
  • Week 8: Demond Claiborne, Wake Forest; Ron Cook Jr, Buffalo; Jacob De Jesus, UNLV; Sione Vaki, Utah
  • Week 9: Coco Azema, Northwestern; Jabre Barber, Troy; Jared Brown, Coastal Carolina; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State
  • Week 10: Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Malik Sherrod, Fresno State; Jacquez Stuart, Toledo; LaJohntay Wester, FAU; Isaiah Williams, Illinois