The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 1: Two Freshmen Receivers and a Junior DB Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Trio from Maryland, Purdue and Ole Miss Recognized in Race for Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – September 4, 2018 – Jeshaun Jones and Rondale Moore, a pair of true freshmen wide receivers from the Big Ten, and Jaylon Jones, a lockdown corner / kicker returner from the SEC, were named the to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week one of the college football season.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its ninth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2019. This will be The Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Jaylan Jones of Ole Miss returned a first quarter kickoff 94 yards for a touchdown, giving the Rebels a lead they would not relinquish in a 44-38 win over Texas Tech at NRG Stadium in Houston. Jones, a junior, also recorded seven tackles and broke up a pass before suffering a season-ending knee injury late in the first half.

Jeshaun Jones of Maryland accounted for scores the first three times he touched the ball in his career at Maryland as the Terrapins upset no. 23 Texas 34-29 at FedEx Stadium in Landover. A true freshman wide receiver, Jones scored touchdowns on a 25-yard run and a 65-yard reception in the first quarter and threw a 20-yard touchdown pass in second quarter. He accounted for 165 all-purpose yards in his first college game.

Rondale Moore of Purdue broke the school’s single-game record in his college debut with 313 all-purpose yards in the Boilermaker’s 31-27 home loss to Northwestern. In the second quarter, Moore scored on a 32-yard, over-the-shoulder reception and an electrifying 76-yard run. A true freshman wide receiver/kick returner, he finished the game with 109 yards receiving, 79 yards rushing and 125 yards on five kickoff returns.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.