The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 2: Players from Big Ten, Big 12 and AAC Earn Paul Hornung Award Honors

A Senior and Two Freshmen All-Purpose Players Make Honor Roll In Week Two

Louisville, Ky., – September 10, 2018 – Freshman wide receiver/kick returners Terrence Horne from USF and KJ Hamler from Penn State join senior all-purpose back KaVontae Turner from TCU on the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week two of the college football season.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its ninth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2019. This will be The Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Red-shirt freshman KJ Hamler of Penn State touched the ball three different ways, scored rushing and receiving, and accounted for 145 all-purpose yards in the Nittany Lions’ 51-6 win over Pitt at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh. Hamler scored on a 32-yard run on Penn State’s first possession and added a 14-yard scoring reception just before halftime as the Nittany Lions’ built a 14-6 lead. Kamler also returned three kickoffs for 75 yards.

True freshman Terrence Horne of USF touched the ball three different ways and accounted for 283 yards and three touchdowns in the Bulls’ 49-38 over Georgia Tech in Tampa. Horne returned back-to-back kickoffs for scores in the first quarter, the first for 98 yards and the second for 97 yards. He added a clutch, three-yard touchdown catch in the fourth quarter helping the Bulls mount a comeback from 10 points down. He also carried the ball twice.

Senior KaVontae Turpin of TCU accounted for 176 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns in the Horned Frog’s weather-delayed, rain-soaked 42-12 win over SMU in Dallas. Turpin returned a punt 78 yards for a score in the second quarter to ignite a comeback when TCU trailed 9-0, then put the game out of reach in the fourth quarter with a 42-yard scoring catch and a 34-yard punt return that set up a touchdown. He also made a tackle when SMU intercepted a TCU pass.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:


  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information, and to vote, go to