The Paul Hornung Award

Paul Hornung Award Press Releases

WEEK 8: Four Players Named to Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mountain West Represented

Louisville, Ky. – October 22, 2018 – Three wide receivers and a defensive back, all of whom return kicks, combined for nearly 900 all-purpose yards and five touchdowns to earn the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week eight of the college football season. Named to the weekly honor are Isaiah Harper (Old Dominion), Rondale Moore (Purdue), Kavontae Turpin (TCU) and Avery Williams (Boise State).

read more

WEEK 7: Three Newcomers Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Seven

Wide Receiver, Running Back, Defensive Back Demonstrate All-Purpose Skills

 Louisville, Ky. – October 15, 2018 – A pair of seniors and a junior, two on offense and one on defense, combined for more than 600 all-purpose yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions to earn the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll this week. Marcus Green (WR, Louisiana Monroe) scored the go-ahead touchdown to help the Warhawks to a Sunbelt win on the road; Jason Huntley (RB, New Mexico State) scored twice and racked up big yardage in a tough road loss; and Duke Shelley (DB, Kansas State) picked off two passes and played special teams in the Wildcats’ Big 12 win at home.

read more

WEEK 6: Three Players representing Big 12, C-USA and AAC Earn Paul Hornung Award Honors

Players Score Rushing, Receiving, Returning and Passing in Conference Wins

Louisville, Ky. – October 8, 2018 – Two wide receivers and a running back who accounted for seven touchdowns four different ways and led their respective teams to conference wins are named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week six of the college football season. Wide receivers Isaiah Wright of Temple and Lil’Jordan Humphrey of Texas are joined on the list by running back Kerrith Whyte, Jr. of FAU.

read more

WEEK 5: Boogie Roberts from San Jose State Added to Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Defensive Lineman Major Force on Defense, Scored TD Rushing in Spartans’ Five OT Loss to Hawaii

Louisville, Ky. – October 2, 2018 – San Jose State defensive tackle Boogie Roberts, a fifth-year grad student, touched the ball four different ways and scored his first offensive touchdown in the Spartan’s epic, five-overtime home loss to Hawaii, 44-41. Roberts accounted for the Spartan’s first score of the game on a two-yard run, his first rushing attempt at the major college level. On defense, Roberts forced a fumble in the third quarter, then recovered and returned a Hawaii fumble five yards on the game’s final play to force overtime. He finished the game with five tackles, seven all-purpose yards and a score, a fumble recovery and caused fumble.

read more

WEEK 5: Five Players From across the US Earn Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honors

ACC, Big Ten, Pac-12, Mountain West, Sun Belt Conferences Represented in Week Five

Louisville, Ky. – October 1, 2018 – Four offensive play-makers and one stalwart defender, all of whom double as return specialists, combined for nine touchdowns and more than 700 yards in total offense to earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll this week. The players are: Ugochukwu Amadi (Oregon, DB/RS), Greg Dortch (Wake Forest, WR/RS), Jabir Doughtry-Frye (Troy, RB/RS), KJ Hamler (Penn State, WR/RS), and John Hightower (Boise State, WR/RS), representing the Pac-12, Sun Belt, ACC, Big Ten and Mountain West, respectively.

read more