The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 7: Three Newcomers Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Seven

Wide Receiver, Running Back, Defensive Back Demonstrate All-Purpose Skills

 Louisville, Ky. – October 15, 2018 – A pair of seniors and a junior, two on offense and one on defense, combined for more than 600 all-purpose yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions to earn the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll this week. Marcus Green (WR, Louisiana Monroe) scored the go-ahead touchdown to help the Warhawks to a Sunbelt win on the road; Jason Huntley (RB, New Mexico State) scored twice and racked up big yardage in a tough road loss; and Duke Shelley (DB, Kansas State) picked off two passes and played special teams in the Wildcats’ Big 12 win at home.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its ninth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2019. This will be the Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Louisiana Monroe senior wide receiver Marcus Green touched the ball four different ways and scored once in the Warhawks’ 45-20 win over Coastal Carolina on the road. Green caught a 37-yard pass and a 33-yard scoring pass on what proved to be the Warhawks’ winning touchdown drive in the second quarter. He caught five passes, carried the ball twice, returned a punt and kickoff, made a solo tackle and finished the game with 178 all-purpose yards.

New Mexico State junior running back Jason Huntley accounted for 373 all-purpose yards and scored twice in the Aggies’ 66-38 loss at Louisiana. In the first quarter, he caught a 51-yard touchdown pass and returned a kickoff 100 yards for a score to keep the game close early in the game. Huntley finished the game with 85 yards on eight carries, 112 yards on five receptions and 176 yards on five kickoff returns.

Kansas State senior defensive back Duke Shelley touched the ball four different ways, including two interceptions, as the Wildcats overcame a 6-3 half-time deficit to post a 31-12 home win over Oklahoma State. Shelley’s first interception ended a Cowboy’s scoring threat in the first quarter and his second pick ended OSU’s final possession. Shelley returned a kickoff 26 yards, made six solo tackles and a pass deflection.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to