The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 7: Four Players Lead Teams to Conference Wins, Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse, Given to Nation’s Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – October 14, 2019 – Three juniors and a senior were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week seven of the college football season: Lynn Bowden Jr., Kentucky wide receiver/quarterback/punt returner; Travis Etienne, Clemson running back; John Hightower, Boise State wide receiver/kick returner; and Oklahoma junior wide receiver and punt returner CeeDee Lamb.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

Kentucky junior wide receiver / return specialist Lynn Bowden Jr. moved from receiver to starting quarterback and led the Wildcats to a 24-20, come-from-behind home win over Arkansas. Filling in due to injuries to UK’s top two quarterbacks, Bowden threw a touchdown pass and scored twice on the ground, including the game-winning touchdown run of 24 yards late in the fourth quarter. He finished with 78 passing yards and 196 yards rushing. He also returned one punt.

Clemson junior running back Travis Etienne touched the ball 19 times three different ways on offense – rushing, receiving and passing – and helped the Tigers route Florida State 45-14. He carried the ball 17 times for 123 yards and a touchdown, caught a pass and was one-for-one passing for 23 yards. Etienne opened the scoring for Clemson with a three-yard touchdown reception and completed a key, 23-yard pass on that drive. Etienne accounted for seven first downs rushing.

Boise State senior wide receiver and kick returner John Hightower accounted for 183 all-purpose yards receiving, rushing and returning kicks and scored twice as the Broncos defeated Hawai’I 59-37 at home. Hightower caught seven passes for 141 yards, including scoring receptions of 26 yards and 42 yards. He also returned a kickoff 34 yards and carried the ball twice for eight yards.

Junior wide receiver and punt returner CeeDee Lamb of Oklahoma caught three touchdown passes and touched the ball rushing and returning kicks as the Sooners beat rival Texas 34-27 in the Red River Rivalry. Lamb opened the scoring with a one-yard reception, then broke numerous tackles on a 51-yard touchdown catch in the third quarter and a 27-yard touchdown reception in the fourth quarter. He finished the day with 10 receptions for 171 yards, one run for four yards and three punt returns.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

• 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
• 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
• 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
• 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
• 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
• 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
• 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
• 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
• 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to