The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 6: Two Players Each from the Big 12, ACC Earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Foursome Combined on Offense, Defense, Special Teams to Touch Ball Nine Ways

Louisville, Ky. – October 9, 2017 – Three newcomers – Kenny Hill (TCU), Joel Lanning (Iowa State), and Jordan Whitehead (Pitt), and repeat performer Nyheim Hines from NC State – earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for week six of the college football season. Whithead led the Panthers in rushing and solo tackles; Hines touched the ball five different ways for the Wolfpack on offense and special teams; Hill accounted for Horned Frogs’ touchdowns passing, rushing, and receiving; and Lanning played 78 total snaps for the Cyclones at linebacker, quarterback, and special teams

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually by the Louisville Sports Commission to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner of this year’s award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2018, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky.

TCU quarterback Kenny Hill threw a 45-yard pass, caught a 48-yard touchdown pass, and ran past three Mountaineer defenders for three yards and the winning score with less than three minutes to play as the Horned Frogs outlasted number 23 WVU 31-24 in Forth Worth. Hill accounted for 264 all-purpose yards – 188 rushing, 48 receiving, and 28 rushing – in a game that was tied twice and had three lead changes. TCU is now 5-0 on the season and ranked number six in the national polls.

NC State running back / return specialist Nyheim Hines made the Honor Roll the second time as he touched the ball 29 times and led the Wolfpack to a 39-25 home victory over number 17-ranked Louisville. He carried the ball 18 times for 102 yards and two touchdowns; had two receptions for 15 yards; caught a two point conversion; returned four kicks for 105 yards; returned three punts; and as gunner on punt coverage, downed a punt on the Cardinals’ two-yard line. NC State is now 5-1 and ranked number 20.

Iowa State linebacker / quarterback Joel Lanning, the starting middle linebacker and second-leading tackler in the Big 12,  played 57 snaps on defense; 13 snaps at quarterback; and eight downs on special teams as the Cyclones stunned number three Oklahoma in Norman 38-31. Lanning made eight tackles, a tackle for loss, a sack and fumble recovery; rushed for 35 yards; and completed two passes for 25 yards. ISU’s starting quarterback in 2016, he switched to linebacker in the offseason and was called to spot play on offense this week due to ISU’s depleted quarterback corps.

Pitt safety / running back Jordan Whitehead led the team in rushing and was the second-leading tackler from his safety spot as the Panthers dropped a 27-24 heartbreaker to Syracuse in the Carrier Dome. On offense, Whitehead had seven carries for 73 yards, including a 35-yard touchdown run at the start of the second quarter, and ran for a two-point conversion late in the fourth quarter. On defense, where he has been the season-long starter at safety, he collected nine tackles and a pass breakup.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Previous winners by year are:

2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and honorable mention at linebacker;

2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award as a lockdown, All-American defensiveback who also excelled on offense and special teams;

2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving, and kick returns);

2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the SEC with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;

2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-America honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;

2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won in 2015 after amassing 3,496 all-purpose yards with 1,847 rushing, 540 receiving and 1,109 return, breaking Barry Sanders record of 3,250 set in 1988; and

2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award playing 15 different positions, earning consensus All-America at linebacker, and becoming the first player ever to earn Big Ten Defensive Player of the year, Linebacker of the Year, and Specialist of the Year.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting is now open at and factors into the selection of the Paul Hornung Award finalists and winner.