The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 6: Four Players Lead Teams to Conference Wins, Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse, Given to Nation’s Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – Oct. 10, 2023 – Four players led their teams to conference victories to earn the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Six of the college football season. Making the list are Silas Bolden, Oregon State (Pac-12); Ron Cook, Jr., Buffalo (MAC); Jalil Farooq, Oklahoma (Big 12); and Keegan Jones, UCLA (Pac-12).

For his performance in Oklahoma’s win over Texas, Farooq will be honored by the National College Football Awards Association as the Paul Hornung Award National Player of the Week.

Oregon State junior WR/return specialist Silas Bolden touched the ball nine times three different ways and scored once in the Beavers’ 52-40 road win over Cal. Bolden accounted for one first down rushing and two receiving, including an 11-yard touchdown reception in the second quarter. He had kickoff returns of 59 yards and 50 yards deep into Cal territory each of which set up Oregon State touchdown drives, and he made a tackle on an OSU turnover.

Buffalo senior RB/return specialist Ron Cook, Jr. touched the ball 14 times three different ways and scored twice in the Bulls’ 37-13 home win over Central Michigan. Cook’s three-yard touchdown run in the second quarter proved to be the winning score, and he found the end zone again in the third quarter on a one-yard run. For the game, he had 11 carries, caught one pass and returned two kickoffs.

Oklahoma WR/return specialist Jalil Farooq touched the ball 10 times three different ways and accounted for 180 all-purpose yards and six first downs in the no. 13 Sooners’ 34-30 win over no. 3 Texas in the annual Red River Showdown. Five of Farooq’s first downs came on pass receptions, four were instrumental in Sooner scoring drives, including a 16-yard catch into Texas territory with 1:02 remaining that led to the winning touchdown. He carried the ball three times and returned two kickoffs.

UCLA senior RB/WR/returns specialist Keegan Jones touched the ball four different ways and scored twice in the Bruins’ 25-17 come-from-behind home win over no. 13 Washington State. Converted from RB to WR in the offseason, Jones was pressed back into duty as a running back due to team injuries; his first two carries of the season were touchdown runs of 13 and 22 yards in the fourth quarter, the first proved to be the winning score and the second provided the final margin. Jones also had one catch, returned one kickoff and one punt for the Bruins.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes.

2023 Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Week 1: Zachariah Branch, USC; Erik Brooks, Fresno State; Malik Fleming, Houston; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Jayden McGowan, Vanderbilt; Jalen McMillian, Washington
Week 2: Phillip Brooks, Kansas State; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Braden Smith, Cincinnati; Lincoln Victor, Washington State
Week 3: Jacob De Jesus, UNLV; Tory Horton, Colorado State; Parker Kingston, BYU; DJ Lundy, FSU’ Michael Wiley, Arizona
Week 4: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Jawhar Jordan, Louisville; Will Shipley, ACC; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State
Week 5: Ismail Mahdi, Texas State; Cameron Skattebo, Arizona State; Jacquez Stuart, Toledo; Blake Watson, Memphis