The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 4: Two Players from ACC, One Each from Big Ten and Pac-12 Make Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – Sept. 26, 2023 – Four players from three Power 5 conferences earned the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Four of the college football season. Jawhar Jordan from Louisville and Will Shipley from Clemson represent the ACC; Emeka Egbuka from Ohio State represents the Big Ten; and Cameron Skattebo from Arizona State represents the Pac-12. Jordan earned the NCFAA Paul Hornung Award National Player of the Week honors with three touchdowns and 249 all-purpose yards in Louisville’s win over Boston College.

Ohio State junior WR/return specialist Emeka Egbuka touched the ball three different ways and made two key plays in the Buckeyes’ game-winning drive in a 17-14 road win over Notre Dame. Egbuka caught seven passes for 96 yards and accounted for six first downs, including a 27-yard reception for a first down with 1:26 remaining and a 21-yard reception to the one-yard line with 0:15 remaining that set up the winning score.  He had two carries and fielded two punts.

University of Louisville junior RB/return specialist Jawhar Jordan touched the ball 20 times three different ways and scored three touchdowns in the Cardinals’ 56-28 home win over Boston College. Jordan carried the ball 18 times for 134 yards and scored twice on the ground, including a two-yard run that proved to be the winning score. He went 75 yards for a touchdown with a screen pass to open the second half, effectively putting the game out of reach. He accounted for seven first downs and returned a kickoff 40 yards.

Clemson junior RB/return specialist Will Shipley touched the ball 24 times and scored rushing and receiving in the Tiger’s heartbreaking home loss to Florida State in overtime, 31-24. Shipley carried the ball 18 times, including a one-yard touchdown run in the third quarter, and had four receptions, including a seven-yard touchdown catch in the first quarter. He accounted for five first downs rushing and one receiving and returned two kickoffs.

Arizona State junior RB/All-purpose player Cameron Skattebo touched the ball four ways – rushing, receiving, passing and punting – and scored two ways in the Sun Devils’ hard-fought, 42-28 home loss to USC. Scattebo carried the ball 20 times for 111 yards and a score; caught four passes for 79 yards, including a 52-yard run after catch for a score that closed the gap to 35-28 mid-fourth quarter. He completed a pass from the wildcat quarterback position, completed a halfback pass and had a 53-yard punt.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes

2023 Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

  • Week 1: Zachariah Branch, USC; Erik Brooks, Fresno State; Malik Fleming, Houston; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Jayden McGowan, Vanderbilt; Jalen McMillian, Washington
  • Week 2: Phillip Brooks, Kansas State; Travis Hunter, Colorado; Braden Smith, Cincinnati; Lincoln Victor, Washington State.
  • Week 3: Jacob De Jesus, UNLV; Tory Horton, Colorado State; Parker Kingston, BYU; DJ Lundy, FSU’ Michael Wiley, Arizona.