The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 4: Three Players Who Led Teams to Dramatic Wins Named to Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse, Given to Nation’s Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – September 23, 2019 – Three players who excelled on offense and special teams and helped lead their teams to dramatic wins were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week four of the college football season: Demetric Felton, UCLA wide receiver/kick returner; Aaron Mathews, Pittsburgh wide receiver; and Nebraska freshman wide receiver and kick returner Wan’Dale Robinson

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

Junior wide receiver/kick returner Demetric Felton of UCLA scored three times, including the game-winner and a pair of touchdowns for more than 90 yards, and racked up 263 all-purpose yards in UCLA’s 67-63 comeback win over the 19th-ranked Washington State on the road. Felton returned a kickoff 100 yards for a score in the first half, then scored twice in the second half when UCLA rallied from a 32-point deficit. He scored on a 94-yard pass in the third quarter and caught a 20-yard pass for the game-winning score with 1:07 left.

Senior wide receiver Aaron Mathews of Pittsburgh blocked a punt, returned a punt, caught a pass and threw the game-winning touchdown pass in the Panthers’ wild, 35-34 upset win over 15th-ranked UCF at Heinz Field. His 24-yard reception helped set up Pitt’s first score, and his blocked punt in the second quarter led to a scoop and score giving Pitt a 21-0 advantage. After UCF rallied to take the lead, Mathews threw the game-winning touchdown pass to his quarterback on the “Pitt Special” on fourth down with a minute left in the game.

Freshman wide receiver/kick returner Wan’Dale Robinson of Nebraska touched the ball three different ways and accounted for 186 all-purpose yards and three touchdowns, including the game-winner, as the Corn Huskers’ came from behind to beat Illinois 42-38 on the road. Robinson’s 27-yard touchdown reception in the second quarter and three-yard touchdown reception in the third quarter helped keep the game close, and his one-yard touchdown run mid-way through the fourth quarter sealed the win.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

• 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
• 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
• 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
• 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
• 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
• 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
• 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
• 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
• 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to