The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 11: Three Skill Position Players Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – November 11, 2019 – Three skill position players who made contributions in their teams’ wins in conference play were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week 11 of the college football season: Clyde Edwards-Helaire, LSU running back/kick returner; James Proche, SMU wide receiver/punt returner; and Amon-Ra St. Brown, USC wide receiver and punt returner.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

LSU’s junior running back and kick returner Clyde Edwards-Helaire of LSU racked up 199 all-purpose yards and four touchdowns as the Tigers beat Alabama in Tuscaloosa 46-41. He scored twice in the first half on a one-yard run and 13-yard reception, then scored twice on the ground in the fourth quarter, including the game winner with less than two minutes to play. He ended his day with 103 rushing yards on 20 carries, 77 receiving yards on nine catches, and one kick return for 19 yards.

SMU’s senior wide receiver and punt returner James Proche of SMU touched the ball three different ways – receiving, rushing and returning punts – for 186 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns in SMU’s 59-51 shootout win over ECU. He caught 14 passes for 167 yards, including the game-winning, three-yard score late in the game. Five of his receptions went for first downs.

USC’s sophomore wide receiver and punt returner Amon-Ra St. Brown had 207 all-purpose yards receiving, rushing and returning a kickoff and scored once as the Trojans earned bowl eligibility with a 31-26 win at Arizona State. St. Brown scored a 95-yard touchdown reception at the end of the first quarter and accounted for five first downs receiving and rushing for the game.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

• 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
• 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
• 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
• 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
• 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
• 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
• 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
• 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
• 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to