The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 10: Four Players Excel in Multiple Ways to Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse, Given to Nation’s Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – Nov. 8, 2022 – Four players led their teams to wins in week 10 of the college football season to earn the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll. Making the list are Kazmeir Allen, UCLA; Michael Jackson III, USC; Bo Nix, Oregon; and Victor Rosa, UConn.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 13th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission. The Award pays tribute to the late football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner in downtown Louisville in March 2023.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Online fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse is now open HERE and factors into the selection of the finalists and winner.

UCLA junior WR / return specialist Kazmeir Allen filled in at running back and led the Bruins in both rushing yards and receiving touches in a 50-36 road win over Arizona State. Allen carried the ball 11 times for 137 yards, including a 75-yard scoring run in the third quarter that proved to be the game-winner. He also caught four passes for 63 yards and returned one kickoff.

USC sophomore WR / return specialist Michael Jackson III touched the ball 10 times three different ways and scored twice in the Trojans’ 41-34 home win over Cal. Jackson hauled in a seven-yard touchdown pass in the first quarter and a 59-yard scoring strike in the second quarter when USC built a sizable lead. He also carried the ball one time, returned three punts and fair caught a punt.

In addition to his usual quarterback stats, Oregon senior Bo Nix caught a touchdown pass in the Ducks’ 49-10 win at Colorado. Nix hauled in an 18-yard scoring strike late in the first quarter that proved to be the game-winner. At quarterback, he ran for two touchdowns and passed for two scores, completing 20-24 passes for 274 yards.

UConn freshman RB / return specialist Victor Rosa touched the ball 21 times three different ways and scored twice as the Huskies beat UMass at home, 27-10. Rosa carried the ball 17 times and scored on a five-yard run in the third quarter and a 12-yard run in the fourth quarter when UConn sealed its fifth win of the season. He returned a kickoff, returned two punts 17 yards and fair caught one punt.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes.

2022 Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

  • Week 1: Jack Colletto, Oregon State; Derius Davis, TCU; Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Evan Hull, Northwestern
  • Week 2: Jack Colletto, Oregon State; Jahmyr Gibbs. Alabama; Shedro Louis, Liberty; Bumper Pool, Arkansas; Sean Tyler, Western Michigan
  • Week 3: Israel Abanikanda, Pitt; Devon Achane, Texas A&M: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Roschon Johnson, Texas; Will Shipley, Clemson; Chris Tyree, Notre Dame
  • Week 4: Trey Benson, Florida State; Kaelon Black, James Madison; Jordan Byrd, San Diego State; Nathaniel Dell, Houston; Will Shipley, Clemson; Nohl Williams, UNLV
  • Week 5: Shadrick Byrd, Charlotte; Jacob Cowing, Arizona; George Holani, Boise State; Johnnie Lang, Arkansas State; Xavier Worthy, Texas.
  • Week 6: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Jamhyr Gibbs, Alabama; George Holani, Boise State; Cameron Stone, Wyoming.
  • Week 7: Jahmyr Gibbs, Alabama; Amare Jones, Georgia Southern; Marion Lukes, Central Michigan; Jayden Reed, Michigan State; Cameron Rising, Utah; Will Shipley, Clemson.
  • Week 8: Ron Cook Jr, Buffalo; Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; Isaiah Foskey, Notre Dame; Bucky Irving, Oregon; Will Shipley, Clemson.
  • Week 9: Shadrick Byrd, Charlotte; Lexington Joseph, FIU; Jaylin Lane, MTSU; Nikko Remigio, Fresno State.