The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 1: Two Sophomores and a True Freshman Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Award Presented by Texas Roadhouse, Given to Nation’s Most Versatile Player

Louisville, Ky. – September 2, 2019 – Two sophomores and a freshman were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week one of the college football season: Texas A&M Jashaun Corbin, running back; Jevon Holland, Oregon defensive back/return specialist; and Colorado State true freshman Dante Wright, wide receiver.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

Jashaun Corbin of Texas A&M accounted for two first-half scores, a one-yard run and a three-yard reception, helping set the pace as the Aggies won 41-7 over Texas State. Corbin carried the ball 22 times, caught four passes, returned a kickoff and accounted for 134 all-purpose yards.

Jevon Holland of Oregon helped the Ducks forge an early lead by returning punts 29 yards and 81 yards deep into Auburn territory in a showcase game s in Dallas. Holland also made four tackles, caused one quarterback hurry and intercepted a pass. Auburn rallied to win 27-21 in the final seconds of the game.

Dante Wright of Colorado State touched the ball rushing, receiving and returning kicks, and scored twice in the Rams’ 52-31 loss to in-state rival Colorado. His 39-yard touchdown catch tied the score in the first quarter and his 41-yard touchdown run gave CSU a lead late in the first half. He finished the day with 150 all-purpose yards touching the ball nine times.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

• 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
• 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
• 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
• 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
• 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
• 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
• 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
• 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
• 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to