The Paul Hornung Award

Online Fan Voting Now Open

Louisville, KY – September 15, 2014 – College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to cast their votes online for the Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse and given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. Fans can vote as often as once every 24 hours at

The Paul Hornung Award and online voting is powered by Texas Roadhouse. This year’s winner and his family will be honored in January 2015 at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville.

Fans can vote for players who were on the preseason watch list and players who have been named to the Weekly Honor Roll selection.

The preseason watch list contained 47 versatile players from across the country who were named to the list following an extensive evaluation period that included nominations from sports information directors and analysis of past performance. The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances throughout the season by FBS football players nationwide.

Results of the fans’ selection will count for one vote, adding to the votes cast by the 16-member Selection Committee.

“Last year, nearly 100,000 fan votes were cast,” said Louisville Sports Commission Executive Director Karl Schmitt. “College football fans have strong connections to their favorite players and are interested in seeing them succeed in the voting polls. We believe fan participation in the voting process will continue to increase as the Paul Hornung Award gains in stature and recognition.”

Voting will continue through November 17, 2014. Fans will then have the chance to vote for the winner from among the finalists in a second round of voting in late November.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The award was successfully launched in 2010 by the Louisville Sports Commission. Past winners include Owen Marecic (Stanford), Brandon Boykin (Georgia), Tavon Austin (West Virginia) and Odell Beckham Jr. (LSU).


 Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse

Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky’s best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Hornung is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, “The most versatile man ever to play the game.” A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote. All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Louisville Sports Commission

The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) is a Louisville, Kentucky-based 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to create a legacy of economic and social vitality through sports. The LSC attracts and hosts sporting events and activities that have a positive economic impact on Louisville, enhance the area’s image as a premier sports destination, promote healthy lifestyles and improve the quality of life for community members of all ages. More information is available online at and

Texas Roadhouse

Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Texas Roadhouse opened its doors in 1993. Texas Roadhouse has grown to more than 400 locations in 48 states. The company is famous for hand-cut steaks, made-from-scratch sides, fresh-baked bread and its lively atmosphere. In 2007 and 2008, Forbes magazine ranked the company as one of the 200 Best Small Companies and in 2009 the company was ranked “Best Value” by readers of Consumer Reports magazine. For more information, visit

KentuckyOne Health

KentuckyOne Health was formed when two major Kentucky health care organizations came together in early 2012. KentuckyOne Health combines the Jewish and Catholic heritages of the two former systems – Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s HealthCare and Saint Joseph Health System. In late 2012, the organization formed a partnership with the University of Louisville Hospital | James Graham Brown Cancer Center. The nonprofit system is committed to improving the health of Kentuckians by integrating medical research, education, technology and health care services wherever patients receive care. KentuckyOne Health has more than 200 locations including hospitals, physician groups, clinics, primary care centers, specialty institutes and home health agencies across the state of Kentucky and southern Indiana. KentuckyOne Health is the largest health system in Kentucky.