The Paul Hornung Award

Five Offensive Players Combine for 12 Scores, Lead Teams to Conference Wins

Four Touchdowns are Game-winners in Back-and-Forth Scoring Matchups

Louisville, Ky. – Nov. 2, 2020 – Five offense players / return specialists who combined for 12 touchdowns, including four scores that were game-winners, earned Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor roll. Making the list are: Travis Etienne of Clemson, Wesley Kennedy III of Georgia Southern, Ainias Smith of Texas A&M, Kadarius Toney of Florida and Austin Trammel of Rice.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 11th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2021.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Online fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse is now open HERE and factors into the selection of the finalists and winner.

Clemson senior running back Travis Etienne touched the ball 28 times four different ways and scored twice in no. 1-ranked Clemson’s dramatic, 34-28 comeback win at home over Boston College. Etienne caught a 35-yard touchdown pass in the first quarter, returned the opening kickoff of the second half for 40 yards to set up a Tiger touchdown and his 17-yard scoring run in the fourth quarter proved to be the game-winner. He caught seven passes, rushed 20 times and accounted for 264 all-purpose yards.

Georgia Southern senior running back Wesley Kennedy III touched the ball 15 times three different ways and scored twice, including the game-winner, in the Eagles’ come-from-behind win at home over South Alabama, 24-17. Kennedy’s two scoring runs in the fourth quarter – one for 15 yards and one for 14 yards – erased South Alabama’s 17-10 lead. He finished the game with 13 carries for 90 yards, one reception for 10 yards and one kickoff return.

Texas A&M sophomore running back Ainias Smith touched the ball rushing, receiving and returning punts and scored twice as the no. 8-ranked Aggies’ outlasted Arkansas 42-31 in College Station. Smith hauled in a 35-yard touchdown pass and scored on a 14-yard run in the first quarter as A&M built a lead they would not relinquish. Smith accounted for five first downs and had two punt returns longer than 10 yards.

Florida senior wide receiver Kadarius Toney touched the ball receiving, rushing and returning punts and scored three times in the Gators’ 41-17 home win over Missouri. Toney caught touchdown passes on back-to-back plays from scrimmage in the second quarter, an 18-yard score and a 30-yard score. The first score erased a Mizzou lead, the second proved to be the game-winner. He lined up as wildcat quarterback and ran for a 16-yard score in the third quarter.

Rice senior wide receiver Austin Trammell touched the ball receiving, returning kicks and punts and scored three times in the Owls’ 30-6 road win over Southern Miss. Trammell turned a short pass reception into a 72-yard, first quarter score that proved to be the game winner. He caught a 14-yard scoring pass in the second quarter and a 13-yard scoring pass in the fourth quarter. He finished the game with seven catches for 143 yards.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans also can follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

  • 2019: Lynn Bowden Jr. of Kentucky made the move from all-purpose receiver/wildcat quarterback/return specialist to quarterback in mid-season and led the Wildcats to a 5-2 record and Belk Bowl win over Virginia Tech.
  • 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue was a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke the school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313, respectively.
  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State was an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan played 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earned first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford was a workhorse on offense and special teams who broke the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington was a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finished as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU finished the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia earned All-American by scoring 17 touchdowns receiving, rushing, returning kicks and punts; and amassing 2,272 all-purpose yards, including 572 yards versus Oklahoma.
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia was a lockdown cornerback on defense; scored three touchdowns playing quarterback, running back and slot on offense; and led the SEC in punt and kick returns.
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford was a two-way starter who averaged 110 snaps per game and earned first team All Pac-10 at fullback and honorable mention at linebacker.