The Paul Hornung Award

Trio of Versatile Wide Receivers Named to Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week 10

featured article player

Three Newcomers Account for More Than 700 All-Purpose Yards and Seven Touchdowns

Louisville, KY – Monday, November 3, 2014 – Nelson Agholor (USC), Pharoh Cooper (South Carolina) and Jamarcus Nelson (UAB) combined for 747 all-purpose yards and scored three different ways in hard-fought conference games as each player earned the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for the first time during the 2014 college football season.

The announcement was made by the Louisville Sports Commission, owners and operators of the Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse and given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner and his family will be honored on January 27, 2015, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel and Suites in downtown Louisville.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to cast their votes online for the Paul Hornung Award. Fans can vote as often as once every 24 hours at for players who were on the preseason watch list and players who have been named to the Weekly Honor Roll selection. Voting will continue through November 17, 2014. Fans will then have the chance to vote for the winner from among the finalists in a second round of voting in late-November.

USC wide receiver Nelson Agholor accounted for 291 all-purpose yards, including an 87-yard TD reception and a 65-yard punt return for a TD in a 44-17 win at Washington State. His 220 receiving yards are a career-high, and Agholor now has four, career punt return TDs, setting a Trojan record. He is only the second FBS player in the last 10 seasons to tally at least 200 receiving yards and a punt return TD in the same game.

South Carolina wide receiver Pharoh Cooper had 256 all-purpose yards – the most for the Gamecocks this year – and accounted for four TDs in a heartbreaking 45-42 two-overtime loss to Tennessee in Columbia. Cooper ran for a TD in the first quarter, threw a TD pass in the second and had TD receptions in the third and fourth quarters. His 233 receiving yards are a single-game school record and his 11 receptions are a career-best. Cooper ran for 23 yards on three carries, threw a 30-yard TD pass and recovered a fourth-quarter onside kick by the Volunteers.

UAB wide receiver Jamarcus Nelson touched the ball four different ways and led UAB to a 31-28 win over Conference USA foe FAU. Nelson caught six passes for 125 yards a one TD, returned four punts for 50 yards, ran the ball once for six yards and returned a kickoff for 19 yards. Nelson registered his third 100-yard receiving game of the season and the 11th of his career. His 78-yard TD catch in the third quarter was 24th of his career and put UAB up 14-7. Of his 24 TDs, 17 of them have covered distances of 40 yards or more.

Past Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll Selections:

Week One: Ishmael Adams (UCLA), Todd Gurley (Georgia), Ty Montgomery (Stanford), Frankie Williams (Purdue)

Week Two: Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska), Ty Montgomery (Stanford), Shaq Thompson (Washington), Jarvis West (Iowa State)

Week Three: Phillip Dorsett (Miami), Leonard Fournette (LSU), Scott Harding (Hawaii), Christion Jones (Alabama), Shaq Thompson (Washington)

Week Four: Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska), Alex Ross (Oklahoma)

Week Five: Ishmael Adams (UCLA), Todd Gurley (Georgia), Ty Montgomery (Stanford), Marcus Murphy (Missouri), Shaq Thompson (Washington)

Week Six: B.J. Catalon (TCU), Todd Gurley (Georgia), Dak Prescott (Mississippi State), Nick Vigil (Utah State)

Week Seven: B.J. Catalon (TCU), Corey Coleman (Baylor), Ty Montgomery (Stanford),

Nick Vigil (Utah State)

Week Eight: Marcus Murphy (Missouri), Raheem Mostert (Purdue), Chad Voytik (Pittsburgh)

Week Nine: Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska), Patrick Towles (Kentucky), Nick Vigil (Utah State)