The Paul Hornung Award

Paul Hornung Award Press Releases

Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers Named 2016 Paul Hornung Award Winner

Louisville, Ky. – Wednesday, December 7, 2016 – University of Michigan third-year sophomore Jabrill Peppers, who this year became the first person to earn Big Ten defensive player of the year, linebacker of the year and return specialist of the year, was named winner of the seventh annual Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse. The Louisville Sports Commission and Paul Hornung present the Award to the most versatile player in major college football.

read more

Four Players from Pac 12, Big 10 and Big 12 named Finalists for the 7th Annual Paul Hornung Award

Winner and Two Finalists from 2015 Make the List Again Along with One Newcomer

Louisville, Ky. – Thursday, November 17, 2016 –  Two defensive stars who also return kicks and spot play on offense, and a pair of prolific playmakers who play offense and return kicks have been named finalists for the seventh annual Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse and given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

read more

WEEK 11: Five Athletes Earn Honor Roll After Intense Matchups

Two 2015 Finalists, Three Newcomers earn This Week’s Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – November 14, 2016 – Five versatile performers were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll following Week 11 of the college football season. Two familiar faces are on this week’s list – Jabrill Peppers from Michigan and Adoree’ Jackson from USC, who were Finalists for the 2015 Paul Hornung Award and have made the Honor Roll multiple times this season. They are joined by newcomers Kevonn Mabon (Ball State), Devin Singletary (Florida Atlantic) and Shaun Wilson (Duke).

read more

WEEK 10: Wide Receivers, Running Back and Defensive Back Earn Honor Roll

Three Familiar Faces and One Newcomer Standout in Week 10

Louisville, Ky. – November 7, 2016 – Players from the Big 10, Big 12 and Pac-12 make up the Week 10 Honor Roll by leading their teams to conference victories. Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers and Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey made the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for the fifth time this season, while Oklahoma’s Dede Westbrook is back for the second consecutive week. Dante Pettis from Washington makes his first appearance.

read more

WEEK 9: Three Athletes Earn Honor Roll After Explosive Performances in Week Nine

Big 10, Big 12, and Pac 12 Players Account for Eight Touchdowns in Conference Wins

Louisville, Ky. – October 31, 2016 – The Week Nine Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll brings back two familiar faces – Jabrill Peppers and Christian McCaffrey – and newcomer Dede Westbrook from Oklahoma. Peppers headlines the Honor Roll for the second consecutive week and the fourth time this season by playing nine different positions in Michigan’s win over in-state rival Michigan State; McCaffrey returns to the Honor Roll for the first time since Week Four of the season with 225 all-purpose yards in Stanford’s win over Arizona; and Dede Westbrook earns his first Honor Roll by scoring two different ways in the Sooners’ win over Kansas.

read more