The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 9: Four Offensive Players Amass All-Purpose Yards, Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – October 28, 2019 – Four offensive skill players who helped lead their teams to important wins were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week nine of the college football season: Cam Akers, Florida State running back; Lynn Bowden Jr., Kentucky wide receiver/quarterback; Wesley Kennedy III, Georgia Southern running back/return specialist; and Stephon Robinson Jr., Kansas wide receiver and kick returner.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

Junior running back Cam Akers of Florida State carried the ball 23 times for 144 yards and four touchdowns, completed two passes from the wildcat position and caught two passes as the Seminoles beat Syracuse 35-17. Aker’s record-tying four rushing scores included runs of 23, three and six yards in the first half, when he also ran for a two-point conversation His final touchdown was a seven-yard run in the third quarter that put the game out of reach. FSU is 4-4 on the season.

Junior wide receiver / kick returner Lynn Bowden Jr. of Kentucky subbed at quarterback and led the Wildcats to a 29-7 win over Missouri, rushing for 204 yards on 21 carries and two touchdowns and passing for 54 yards. Bowden set up UK’s first two scores with a 44-yard pass and a 46-yard run, then added a 10-yard touchdown run late in the first half as the Wildcats built a 22-0 lead. His 33-yard scoring run in the fourth quarter clinched the win. UK is 4-4 on the season.

Junior running back and returner Wesley Kennedy III of Georgia Southern amassed 222 all-purpose yards rushing, receiving and returning punts as the Eagles defeated NMSU 41-7. Kennedy had 71-yard touchdown run in the first quarter, a 47-yard touchdown run in the second quarter, then returned a punt 67 yards for a score in the third quarter. He carried the ball six times for 123 yards. Georgia Southern is 4-3 on the season.

Junior wide receiver and returner Stephon Robinson Jr. of Kansas accounted for 294 all-purpose yards and two scores to lead Kansas to a 37-34 win over Texas Tech. Robinson’s 48-yard touchdown catch late in the first half and 65-yard touchdown catch in the third quarter wiped out double digit deficits. He ended the day with six receptions and 186 yards and two touchdowns, one rush for five yards, and four kick returns for 103 yards. The Jayhawks are 3-5 on the season.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

• 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
• 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
• 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
• 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
• 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
• 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
• 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
• 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
• 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to