The Paul Hornung Award

WEEK 1: Players from Three Power Five Conferences Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – Sept. 6, 2022 – Four players from Power Five conferences helped lead their teams to wins in season openers to earn a sport on the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week one of the college football season. Making the list are Jack Colletto, Oregon State; Derius Davis, TCU; Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State; and Evan Hull, Northwestern.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 13th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission. The Award pays tribute to the late football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner in downtown Louisville in March 2023.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Online fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse is now open HERE and factors into the selection of the finalists and winner.

Oregon State redshirt junior LB/QB Jack Colletto played defense, offense and special teams in the Beavers’ 34-17 home win over Boise State. Playing linebacker, Colletto made three tackles and recovered a fumble that led to an Oregon State field goal. On offense playing quarterback, he carried the ball three times for 44 yards, including a 41-yard touchdown run late in the fourth quarter that put the game out of reach.

TCU senior WR/return specialist Derius Davis touched the ball three different ways and scored two different ways in the Horned Frogs’ 38-13 road win over Colorado. Davis returned a punt 60 yards for a touchdown early in the second quarter to erase a 3-0 deficit and gave TCU a lead it would not relinquish. Davis had two catches for 25 yards, including a first down and scored on a 27-yard run mid-fourth quarter.

Ohio State sophomore WR/return specialist Emeka Egbuka touched the ball three different ways and scored once in the Buckeyes’ 21-10 come-from-behind home win over Notre Dame. Egbuka caught nine passes for 90 yards, including four for first downs and a 31-yard touchdown in the first quarter. He returned one punt for four yards, fair caught four punts and returned a kickoff 25 yards in a game where field position was a key factor.

Northwestern junior RB/return specialist Evan Hall touched the ball 27 times three different ways and scored the winning touchdown on a four-yard run in the Wildcats’ 31-28 come-from-behind win over Nebraska in a game played in Dublin, Ireland. Hull carried the ball 22 times for 199 yards and six first downs and caught five passes for 55 yards and four first downs. He added an 18-yard kickoff return.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes.