The Paul Hornung Award

Stanford’s McCaffrey and TCU’s Turpin Earn Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, KY – Monday, October 5, 2015 – Christian McCaffrey (Stanford) and KaVontae Turpin (TCU) helped their teams to wins over conference foes and a spot atop their respective conference standings as they earned the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in week five of the season. The two combined for 442 all-purpose yards, five touchdowns and each touched the ball four different ways, exemplifying their versatility on the field.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner and his family will be honored on February 25, 2016, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky..

Stanford sophomore running back Christian McCaffrey made the Honor Roll for the third consecutive week by gaining 260 all-purpose yards and leading the Cardinal to its fourth straight win, 55-17 over Arizona. He ran for 156 yards and one touchdown, caught two passes for 11 yards, ran back a pair of kickoffs for 98 yards and returned four punts. McCaffrey, who lines up at tailback, slot and Wildcat QB, leads the nation with 229.80 all-purpose yards per game. Stanford is now 4-1 on the season and leads the Pac-12 North division at 3-0.

TCU freshman wide receiver KaVontae Turpin caught four touchdown passes – the most by a freshman in Big 12 history – and touched the ball four different ways in the Horned Frogs’ 50-7 win against Texas. His four touchdown receptions are tied for the most in a game by an FBS player this season and the most by a freshman. Turpin finished the day with six catches for 138 yards, both career bests, and had at least one receiving score in three of the last four games. Turpin added two carries for 14 yards, a four-yard punt return and a 26-yard kickoff return to finish with 182 all-purpose yards on the day. TCU is now 5-0 this season and 2-0 in the Big 12.

Past Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll Selections

Week One: William Likely (Maryland), Myles Jack (UCLA), Braxton Miller (Ohio State), Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss)

Week Two: Kenyan Drake (Alabama), Janarion Grant (Rutgers), Jahad Thomas (Temple), Brandon Wilson (Houston)

Week Three: William Likely (Maryland), Christian McCaffrey (Stanford), Jakeem Grant (Texas Tech), Ryan Switzer (North Carolina)

Week Four: Trevone Boykin (TCU), Adoree’ Jackson (USC), Christian Kirk (Texas A&M), Christian McCaffrey (Stanford), Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss)

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to recognize and reward high-level achievers in college football whose performances and contributions as versatile players often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award in 2010; Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award in 2011 after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award in 2012 as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns); Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award in 2013 after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game; and Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award in 2014 as a two-way player, earning first team All-America honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback.