The Paul Hornung Award

Four Offensive Players / Return Specialists Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Honorees Help Lead Teams to Tough Conference Wins

Louisville, Ky. – Dec. 7, 2020 – Four offensive players / return specialists who helped lead their teams to highly competitive conference wins were named to the weekly Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll. Making the list are: Tyler Badie, Missouri; Jha’Quan Jackson, Tulane; Nikko Remigio, Cal; and Kairee Robinson, San Jose State.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 11th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission to pay tribute to football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2021.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Online fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse is now open HERE and factors into the selection of the finalists and winner.

Missouri junior wide receiver / return specialist Tyler Badie touched the ball 11 times three different ways and scored twice in the Tigers’ 50-48 shootout win over Arkansas at home. Badie carried the ball six times for 79 yards and scored on runs of 46 and 27 yards in a wild fourth quarter when Mizzou overcame a 14-point deficit. He also ran for a first down on the winning field goal drive. Bodie caught three passes and returned two kickoffs.

Tulane sophomore wider receiver / return specialist Jha’Quan Jackson touched the ball rushing, receiving and returning kickoffs and punts, and scored once in the Green Wave’s 35-21 home win over Memphis. Jackson scored on a 42-yard pass in the first quarter and two receptions that led to crucial first downs later in the game. His 17-yard run for a first down helped Tulane run out the clock at the end of the game. Jackson also handled two punts and two kickoffs.

Cal junior wide receiver / return specialist Nikko Remigio touched the ball 12 times four different ways and scored once in the Golden Bears’ 21-17 home win over Oregon. Remigio caught six passes for 81 yards and scored the gaming-winning touchdown on a 28-yard reception late in the third quarter. He carried the ball once for seven yards, fair caught a kickoff and returned four punts for 40 yards.

San Jose State sophomore running back / return specialist Kairee Robinson carried the ball 27 times for a career-high 111 yards and the winning score, returned a kickoff and caught one pass in the Spartans’ 35-24 road win over Hawaii. Robinson carried the ball five times on SJSU’s 18-play, 70-yard winning drive in the third quarter, capped by his two-yard touchdown run. He had a 12-yard reception, returned a kickoff 20 yards and had long runs of 25 and 20 yards from scrimmage.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans also can follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

  • 2019: Lynn Bowden Jr. of Kentucky made the move from all-purpose receiver/wildcat quarterback/return specialist to quarterback in mid-season and led the Wildcats to a 5-2 record and Belk Bowl win over Virginia Tech.
  • 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue was a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke the school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313, respectively.
  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State was an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan played 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earned first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford was a workhorse on offense and special teams who broke the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington was a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finished as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU finished the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia earned All-American by scoring 17 touchdowns receiving, rushing, returning kicks and punts; and amassing 2,272 all-purpose yards, including 572 yards versus Oklahoma.
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia was a lockdown cornerback on defense; scored three touchdowns playing quarterback, running back and slot on offense; and led the SEC in punt and kick returns.
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford was a two-way starter who averaged 110 snaps per game and earned first team All Pac-10 at fullback and honorable mention at linebacker.