The Paul Hornung Award

Paul Hornung Award Press Releases

WEEK 6: Two Players Return, Two More Make First Appearances on Paul Hornung Honor Roll

Pac-12, Big 10, and SEC Players Leave Their Marks in Conference Games

Louisville, Ky. – October 10, 2016 – USC’s Adoree’ Jackson returns to the Honor Roll for the first time since being a 2015 Hornung Award finalist following a conference win over Colorado; Arizona State’s Tim White led the Sun Devil’s in receiving and special teams in a Pac-12 win over UCLA; Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers returns to the Honor Roll after lining up at five positions on offense, defense and special teams in an easy win over Rutgers; and Tennessee’s Alvina Kamara returns to the Honor Roll for the second consecutive week following the Volunteers’ overtime loss to Texas A&M.

read more

WEEK 5: Four Newcomers Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Five

Players Help Lead Teams to Big Wins in the SEC, Big 12, Mountain West and ACC

Louisville, Ky. – October 3, 2016 – Week Five of the Paul Hornung Award brings four new faces to the Honor Roll who helped lead their teams to big conference wins. Tennessee running back Alvin Kamara made key plays in the Vol’s comeback win at Georgia; North Carolina running back TJ Logan scored twice in the Tar Heels’ upset at Florida State; Oklahoma running back Joe Mixon touched the ball four different ways in the Sooners’ win at TCU; and Boise State wide receiver Cedrick Wilson threw and caught touchdown passes in the Broncos’ home win over Utah State.

read more

WEEK 4: Three Watch List Players and One True Freshman Excelled in Week Four Contests

Players from Pac-12, AAC and ACC Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – September 26, 2016 – Week Four brought three familiar faces and one true freshman to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll. Victor Bolden Jr. of Oregon State made his first appearance after being named to the 2015 and 2016 Watch Lists; Quadree Henderson made it onto the Honor Roll for the second time this season in the gritty, last-minute loss to North Carolina; Christian McCaffrey made it onto the Honor Roll for the third consecutive week in the comeback win on the road against UCLA; and true freshman D’Eriq King of Houston broke a school record accounting for scores three different ways in a single game in the Cougars’ victory over Texas State.

read more

WEEK 3: Paul Hornung Honor Roll Foursome Registers 800+ All-Purpose Yards in Victories

Two 2015 Hornung Award Finalists Make Appearances on Week Three Honor Roll

Louisville, Ky. – September 19, 2016 – Three familiar faces and one newcomer were named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll following game-winning performances in week three of the season. Georgia’s Isaiah McKenzie earned Honor Roll for the second time this year, as did 2015 Paul Hornung Award winner Christian McCaffrey. Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers, a finalist in 2015, earned his first Honor Roll recognition this year along with newcomer Janarion Grant of Rutgers.

read more

WEEK 2: Honor Roll Threesome Stand Out in High-Scoring Games

Rivalry, Double Overtime and NCAA Record Games Filled Week Two

Louisville, Ky. –September 12, 2016 – Week Two ended up to be a weekend of big numbers, with each of the three players who made the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll accounting for more than 200 all-purpose yards catching, rushing and returning kicks.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. For the first time in its seven-year span, the Paul Hornung Award is an associate member of the prestigious National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The winner of this year’s award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2017, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky.

read more