Derby Field

After 149 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Press Releases

Paul Hornung Award has been granted associate membership in the National College Football Awards Association

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse has been granted associate membership in the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The announcement was made today by NCFAA President Mark Wolpert and Louisville Sports Commission President and CEO Karl Schmitt, Jr. The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) founded the Award in 2010, which is presented annually to the most versatile player in major college football

read more

The 2017-18 National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament Returns to Louisville

Colorado Springs, Col. – The NWBA and Louisville Sports Commission are excited to announce that the National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament (NWBT), presented by ABC Medical, will be held in Louisville, Kentucky, from 2017-2018. The NWBT has been hosted in Louisville from 2013-16. The 2017 tournament will be held from March 29-April 2, and will mark the 10th time that the bluegrass state has hosted the world’s largest single sporting event for athletes with disabilities.

read more

Dotsie Bausch, John Schnatter Named Honorary Co-Chairs for 2016 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championship presented by Papa John’s

Papa John’s Signs on as Presenting Sponsor for the Event
to be Held in Louisville June 30-July 2

Louisville, Ky. – May 30, 2016 – Papa John’s CEO John Schnatter and 2012 Olympic cycling silver medalist Dotsie Bausch, a Louisville native and graduate of Ballard High School, have been named honorary co-chairs of the host committee for the 2016 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championship presented by Papa John’s that will be held in Louisville June 30 – July 1. Papa John’s recently signed on as presenting sponsor.

read more

Golden Ticket Winner Drawn on WDRB News @ Noon

Louisville, Ky. – April 26, 2016 – Carol Wells is the winner of the Louisville Sports Commission’s sixth annual Golden Ticket raffle. Rachel Collier, WDRB news anchor, drew Well’s ticket during today’s noon newscast.

Wells purchased one of 350 raffle tickets for $100 and won the Golden Ticket grand prize – two tickets to each of the following sporting events:

  • 2016 Kentucky Derby and Oaks
  • 2016 Senior PGA Championship
  • All 2016-17 University of Louisville regular season home basketball and football games
  • All 2016-17 University of Louisville women’s regular season home basketball games
  • 2016 Quaker State 400 at the Kentucky Speedway
  • 2016 Louisville Bats regular season home games
  • 2017 Paul Hornung Award Banquet

“I work for my son at Custom Signs and Graphics and thought it would be great to be able to take him to every University of Louisville home football and basketball game – he’s a huge fan,” said Wells. “But the big thrill for me is being able to attend the Kentucky Oaks and Derby. I’ve lived here my entire life, but this will be my first time to watch the races at Churchill Downs.”

read more

David Baker, President of Pro Football Hall of Fame, to Speak at Paul Hornung Award Banquet

Louisville, Ky. – February 18, 2016 – The Louisville Sports Commission announced that David Baker, Pro Football Hall of Fame President, will be the featured speaker at the sixth annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health. The banquet will be held Feb. 25 at the Galt House in downtown Louisville.

The banquet will honor Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey, who earned the 2015 Paul Hornung Award by setting an NCAA single season record with 3,864 all-purpose yards as a running back, slot receiver, quarterback and return specialist. He will be joined at the banquet by his parents, Lisa and Ed McCaffrey, and former Award winners Shaq Thompson, Brandon Boykin and Owen Marecic.

read more