Derby Field

After 149 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Announces New Board Members

Louisville, KY – June 15, 2017 – The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) announced the appointment of four new members to its board of directors and re-election of two members. The new and re-elected board members will be serving a three-year term of July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019. The LSC also welcomes a new slate of officers, including David Wombwell, market president of US Bank, who was re-elected as chairman of the board.

New board members:

  • Travis Doster, Texas Roadhouse
  • Amber Halloran, The Kentucky Center
  • Steve Hester, Norton Healthcare
  • Nick Sarantis, Baptist Health Sports Medicine

“We are pleased to welcome such a distinguished group of local business leaders to our board of directors,” said Karl Schmitt, president and CEO of the LSC. “These individuals bring a wealth of experience and innovative thinking to the board that will enable us to continue to focus our efforts on initiatives that promote active lifestyles and enhance economic vitality in our community by attracting, creating and hosting sporting events and activities.”

Re-elected board members:

  • Andrew Boyd, Whayne Supply
  • Tendai Charasika, SuperFanU

The following slate of officers was also elected at the LSC’s annual meeting:

  • Chairman – David Wombwell, US Bank
  • Vice Chair – John Willmoth, Poplar Ventures
  • Secretary – Casner Wheelock, Middleton Reutlinger
  • Treasurer – Phil Poindexter, Stock Yards Bank & Trust
  • Immediate Past Chair – Wendy Wagoner, LG&E and KU Energy, LLC

The following were elected to serve a one-year term on the LSC’s Executive Committee:

  • Cleo Battle, Louisville Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • Stacie Grossfeld, Orthopaedic Specialists PLLC
  • Brett Hale, Beam Suntory
  • Ed Hartless, 4th Street Live!
  • John Hollenbach, Hollenbach Oakley Development
  • David Phillips, Palladium Consulting
  • Phil Poindexter, Stock Yards Bank & Trust
  • Jason Rittenberry, Kentucky Venues
  • Marty Storch – Louisville Metro Parks Department
  • Gary Ulmer, Louisville Bats
  • Lani VanderToll, KentuckyOne Health
  • Wendy Wagoner, LG&E and KU Energy, LLC
  • Casner Wheelock, Middleton Reutlinger
  • John Willmoth, Poplar Ventures
  • David Wombwell, US Bank

To see the full list of board members, click HERE