Derby Field

After 149 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Press Releases

UofL Sweeps Individual Honors at Louisville Sports Commission Cross Country Classic Feature Races

Michigan Women, North Central Men Dominate Team Scoring

Louisville, Ky, – September 29, 2018 – The Louisville Sports Commission Cross Country Classic, one of the largest and most prestigious college meets in the U.S., took on a local flavor this year as University of Louisville female and male runners took individual honors in the feature races while Eastern Kentucky women and University of Kentucky men took second in the feature race team scoring. One the national front, the no. 10-ranked Michigan (NCAA Division I) women’s team won the feature race in a dominating fashion and the North Central College (Naperville, Ill.) men’s team, ranked no. 1 in NCAA Division III, won the men’s feature race.

read more

Winners Announced for Norton Sports Health Great Pumpkin 10K

Louisville, Ky. – September 22, 2018 – With nearly 1,300 registered participants, the Norton Sports Health Great Pumpkin 10K went off this morning under cool and cloudy conditions. The Great Pumpkin 10K was held in The Parklands of Floyds Fork; it is the second race in the Louisville Sports Commission’s three-race Fall Runathon Series.

Adam Togami of New Albany, Ind., won the men’s division in a time of 34:54.57, ahead of second-place finisher Brandon Page of Louisville, Ky., who clocked a time 38:37.72. Brittany Busse of Tell City, Ind., won the women’s division in 39:09.02 beating Sarah Schuster of Louisville, Ky., who finished in 41:05.94.

read more

Winners Announced for Louisville pure tap® 5K

Louisville, Ky. – September 8, 2018 – With nearly 1,000 registered participants, the eighth annual Louisville pure tap® 5K went off this morning under cool and cloudy conditions at race start. Race participants started and finished at the Louisville Water Tower, home of Louisville’s drinking water, and followed a course that ran east and west on River Road.

David Grieshaber of Louisville, Ky., won the men’s division in a time of 16:27.33, ahead of second-place finisher Andrew Carnes of Louisville, Ky., who clocked a time of 16:44.01. Angela Musk of Louisville, Ky. won the women’s division in 17:56.61, beating Brittany Busse of Tell City, Ind., who finished in 18:20.70.

read more

43 Players Named to 2018 Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Players accounted for more than 47,000 all-purpose yards, 294 tackles and 229 TDs in 2017

Louisville-based Texas Roadhouse to Sponsor Award for Eighth Year

Louisville, Ky. — July 26, 2018 — The Louisville Sports Commission today named 43 multi-talented college football players to the 2018 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its ninth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2019. This will be The Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

read more

Seven Individuals Selected to Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Kentucky Lottery Signs on as Presenting Sponsor of Hall of Fame

Louisville, Ky. – June 27, 2018 – Seven individuals who have made outstanding contributions to sports during the past several decades have been selected as the 2018 class of the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame fueled by the Kentucky Lottery (KAHOF).

Comprising the 41st KAHOF class are: Sam Ball (Henderson), a consensus All-American offensive lineman at the University of Kentucky and Super Bowl champion; Bob Baffert, five-time Derby winner and two-time Triple Crown winning trainer; Bob Beatty, 13-time state championship-winning football coach at Trinity High School in Louisville; Bernie Bickerstaff (Benham), 33-year veteran NBA coach, administrator, and scout; Nicky Hayden (Owensboro; now deceased), MotoGP world championship motorcycle racer known as The Kentucky Kid; and Ken and Sarah Ramsey (Artimus), multiple-time leader owners at Churchill Downs, Keeneland, Turfway Park, and Kentucky Downs and among the most prolific thoroughbred owners and breeders ever in the Commonwealth.

read more