Derby Field

After 150 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Press Releases

IRONMAN Returns to the Bluegrass State with New Ironman 70.3 Louisville Triathlon Beginning In 2024

– Popular host venue returns to host first IRONMAN branded event since 2019

– Inaugural IRONMAN 70.3 Louisville triathlon scheduled to take place Aug. 18, 2024; General registration to open Sept. 27, 2023, and can be accessed by visiting,

LOUISVILLE, Ky. / TAMPA, Fla. (Sept 19, 2023) – IRONMAN announced today that Louisville, Ky., will once again host an IRONMAN®-branded event with the new IRONMAN® 70.3® Louisville triathlon scheduled to take place on Sunday, Aug. 18, 2024. Louisville first hosted a full-distance IRONMAN triathlon from 2007 to 2019 and the new event brings this iconic Kentucky venue back to the IRONMAN 70.3 racing circuit. General registration for the 2024 IRONMAN 70.3 Louisville triathlon will open on Wednesday, Sept 27, 2023, by visiting,

read more

Winners announced for Louisville Pure Tap® 5K

Louisville, Ky. – Sept. 9, 2023 – With more than 300 registered participants, the annual Louisville Pure Tap® 5K went off this morning under cool, partly cloudy conditions at race start. Race participants followed a course that took them through Frederick Law Olmsted-designed Shawnee and Chickasaw Parks.

Kyle Bowling of Louisville, Ky., won the men’s division in a time of 16:51.02, ahead of second-place finisher Ethan Ennis, who clocked a time of 18:16.35. Megan Cole of Versailles, Ind., won the women’s division in 19:17.49, beating Maria Galvin of Louisville, Ky., who finished in 19:50.25. Sarah Brian won the non-binary division.

read more

53 Players Named to the 14th Annual Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Louisville, Ky. – Aug. 3, 2023 – Fifty-three players, representing all 10 conferences plus two of the independents that compete for the Football Bowl Series, have been selected for the Paul Hornung Award Pre-Season Watch List.

Now in its 14th season, the Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission in memory of the late football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner in Louisville, Ky., in March 2024.

read more

Louisville, Miami to Compete Annually for The Schnellenberger Trophy

Louisville, Ky. – July 24, 2023 – Beginning this fall, the Miami Hurricanes and Louisville Cardinals will compete for a newly created trophy unique to college football – The Schnellenberger Trophy, which features the actual western dress boots, now bronzed, worn by Coach Howard Schnellenberger when he led both programs to national prominence.

The ACC designated the schools as permanent opponents starting in 2023, and the trophy will stay with the winning team each year. Louisville plays the Hurricanes at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla., this season on Nov. 18.

read more

Norton Sports Health 4-Miler Moves to Historic Iroquois Park

This year’s fall race runs through Jack O’Lantern Spectacular

Louisville, Ky. – June 21, 2023 – The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) will host the family-friendly Norton Sports Health 4-Miler walk/run at Iroquois Park on Mon., Oct. 2, 2023, on a course that winds through Jack O’Lantern Spectacular.

The event will start at 6:40 p.m. in Iroquois Park on the lower loop near the intersection of Iroquois Park Road and Rundell Road. The 4-miler will be professionally chip-timed, and all participants will receive a commemorative Norton Sports Health 4-Miler long-sleeve race shirt and a custom finishers medal.

read more