Derby Field

After 150 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Press Releases

David Baker, President of Pro Football Hall of Fame, to Speak at Paul Hornung Award Banquet

Louisville, Ky. – February 18, 2016 – The Louisville Sports Commission announced that David Baker, Pro Football Hall of Fame President, will be the featured speaker at the sixth annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health. The banquet will be held Feb. 25 at the Galt House in downtown Louisville.

The banquet will honor Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey, who earned the 2015 Paul Hornung Award by setting an NCAA single season record with 3,864 all-purpose yards as a running back, slot receiver, quarterback and return specialist. He will be joined at the banquet by his parents, Lisa and Ed McCaffrey, and former Award winners Shaq Thompson, Brandon Boykin and Owen Marecic.

read more

Hornung Award Winners Shaq Thompson and Odell Beckham Jr. Faceoff in NFL

Panthers look to continue undefeated season and Giants to stay in contention for NFC East title

Louisville, Ky. – Thursday, December 17, 2015 – The two most recent winners of the Paul Hornung Award – Carolina Panther linebacker Shaq Thompson and New York Giant wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. – will lineup across from each other for the first time in their NFL careers this Sunday at 1p.m. EST on FOX at Metlife Stadium. The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission. Thompson won the Award 2014 and Beckham in 2013.

read more

Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey Named 2015 Paul Hornung Award Winner

Standout All-Purpose Back, Punt/Kicker Returner Earns Most Versatile Player Honor

Louisville, Ky. – Wednesday, December 9, 2015 – Stanford University sophomore Christian McCaffrey, a workhorse running back and kick return specialist who also lined up at blocking back, slot, wildcat quarterback and wide receiver on his way to the NCAA season-record for all-purpose yards, was named winner of the sixth annual Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse.  The Louisville Sports Commission and Paul Hornung present the Award to the most versatile player in major college football.

read more

6th Annual Schnellenberger MVP Award Presented to UofL’s Lamar Jackson

Award Given to MVP on Winning Team in Annual Kentucky Governor’s Cup

 Louisville, Ky. – November 28, 2015 – University of Louisville freshman quarterback Lamar Jackson earned the Howard Schnellenberger MVP award by rushing for two touchdowns and throwing for one as he led the Cardinals to a 38-24 come-from-behind win over in-state rival Kentucky in Commonwealth Stadium.

The Howard Schnellenberger Award, named after the only person inducted into both the UK and UofL Athletic Halls of Fame, was selected by a vote of the working press covering the game.

read more

Oregon’s Edward Cheserek, Notre Dame’s Molly Seiden Win NCAA XC Titles

Syracuse Wins Men’s Team Title; New Mexico Dominates Women’s Field

Louisville, Ky., – November 21, 2015 – Under gray skies and blustery mid-40-degree temperatures, Oregon superstar Edward Cheserek ran the second-fastest 10-kilometer race ever at E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park – 28.45.8 – to become the first competitor ever to win three consecutive NCAA Division I Cross Country National Championships. Villinova’s Patrick Tiernan, who ran stride-for-stride with Cheserek until the final 1,500 meters, finished second, followed by Pierce Murphy of Colorado. The men’s race was the second of the day and finished just ahead of a quick-moving front that brought cold rain and rapidly dropping temperatures.

read more