Derby Field

After 150 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Announces New Board Members

Louisville, Ky. – June 21, 2021 – At its annual meeting, the Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) board of directors unanimously approved a slate of officers, committee chairs, and new and re-elected board members for its fiscal year 2022, which begins July 1, 2021. Officers and committee chairs were elected to a one-year term; board members were elected to a three-year term.

Philip S. Poindexter, president of Stock Yards Bank & Trust Co., was elected chairman of the board; Leigh Ann Barney, president of Trilogy Health Services, vice-chair; Amber Halloran, treasurer; Allison Brown, associate general counsel at Brightspring Healthcare Services, secretary; and John Willmoth, principal at Poplar Ventures, immediate past chair.

“I appreciate the willingness of such a strong group of community leaders to step up to provide the Sports Commission with oversight and guidance,” said LSC President & CEO Karl F. Schmitt Jr. “As CEO, I’m thankful for the continuity and organized leadership demonstrated by long-time board members, and look forward to welcoming our new board members.”

New members elected to the LSC board for three-year terms are:

• Tawana Bain, GEDDI
• Brad Estes, Soccer Holdings LLC
• DeVone Holt, Goodwill Industries of Kentucky
• Michael Masick, Brown-Forman

“We are honored to welcome such a talented and diverse group of local business leaders to our board,” said Schmitt. “Their expertise will quickly add value to the Sports Commission’s focus on promoting active lifestyles and enhancing economic vitality in our community by attracting, creating and hosting sporting events and activities.”

Board members re-elected to a second three-year term are:

• Jai Bokey, V-Soft Consulting Company
• Garett Jackson, Kindred Healthcare
• Michael Miller, Humana Inc.

The following were elected to serve a one-year term on the LSC’s Executive Committee:

• Leigh Ann Barney, Trilogy Health Services
• Cleo Battle, Louisville Tourism
• David Beck, Kentucky State Fair Board
• Derek Bland, HJI Supply Chain Solutions
• Allison Brown, BrightSpring Health Services
• Travis Doster, Texas Roadhouse
• Amber Halloran, Kentucky Center
• Josh Heird, University of Louisville
• Steve Hester, Norton Healthcare
• Garett Jackson, Kindred Healthcare
• Phil Poindexter, Stock Yards Bank & Trust Co.
• Marty Storch, Louisville Metro
• John Willmoth, Poplar Ventures

The following were elected to serve a one-year term as standing committee chairs:

• Executive Committee: Phil Poindexter, Stock Yards Bank & Trust Co.
• Finance Committee: Amber Halloran
• Nominating Committee: John Willmoth, Poplar Ventures
• Bids and Events Committee: Marty Storch, Louisville Metro
• Strategic Planning Committee: Derek Bland, HJI Supply Chain Solutions

To see the full list of board members, go to