Derby Field

After 150 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

19th Annual Live In Lou Cross Country Classic Run Under Strict COVID-19 Guidelines

More Than 1,000 Runners and 1,200 Fans Gather at Sawyer State Park in Louisville

Louisville, Ky. – Oct. 3, 2020 – A total of eight college races, including two open races, were contested during the 19th annual Live in Lou Cross Country Classic at E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park under ideal weather and course conditions. More than with 1,000 runners participated, representing 45 colleges from 31 states, with approximately 1,200 fans in attendance.

The races were contested adhering to strict COVID-19 health and safety protocols approved by Kentucky State Government, as well as additional guidelines established by participating universities and conferences.

“We appreciate state government approving the comprehensive plan we put in place, and commend our operations team and support staff for putting on a safe and quality event,” said Louisville Sports Commission President & CEO Karl F. Schmitt Jr. “The LSC has a two-decade history of hosting quality college cross country competition, we are grateful that so many teams traveled to our community this year for the Live in Lou Cross Country Classic.”

In the men’s Gold eight-kilometer race, Charlotte’s Paul Arredondo won in 23:30.4. Waleed Suliman of Ole Miss came in second (23:36.8) and Mario Garcia Romo also with Ole Miss came in third (23:41.5). In the men’s Gold team standings, Ole Miss took first place with a dominant score of 28; Charlotte placed second with 69 points, followed by Kentucky with 72 points.

In the women’s Gold five-kilometer race, Jenna Gearing of Kentucky used a massive kick in the final 400 meters to win with a time of 16:51.4. Sydney Seymour of Tennessee ran second (16:52.2) and Purity Sanga of Louisville ran third (16:54.8). The Notre Dame women’s team won the Gold race with 47 points. Ole Miss came in second with 47 points and Kentucky finished third with 76 points.

In the men’s Blue eight-kilometer race, Christian Nobel of Lee (TN) won in 23:34.0. Landon Miller of Indiana Wesleyan finished second (24:52.8) and Caleb Eagleson also of Lee (TN) finished third (24:53.8). The Lee (TN) team won the men’s Blue race with 30 points, Taylor was second with 75 points and Malone was third with 100 points.

In the women’s Blue five-kilometer race, Celine Ritter of Lee (TN) finished first with a time of 17:40.9. Mackenna Curtis-Collins of Malone placed second (17:46.6) and Sarah Harden of Taylor finished third (17:51.9). The Cedarville women’s team won the women’s Blue race with 49 points, Lee (TN) was second with 76 points and Taylor was third with 90 points.

The men’s Silver eight-kilometer race saw first and third place separated by less than 15 seconds. Justin Spoon of Asbury finished first with 26:11.4. Levi Owens of Lindsey Wilson took second (26:23.1) and Drake Dickerson of Ohio Christian took third (26:26.0). Lindsey Wilson won the men’s Silver team event with an impressive score of 27 points, Transylvania was second with 69 points and Georgetown (KY) was third with 84 points.

In the women’s Silver five-kilometer race, Meredith Johnson of Lindsey Wilson won with a time of 18:53.5. Riley Joe Ford of Dalton State ran second (19:30.6) and Grace Dwyer of Calumet-St. Joseph was third (19:37.1). Women’s Silver team standings saw Dalton State take first with 47 points. Lindsey Wilson finished second with 82 points and Calumet-St. Joseph finished third with 94 points.

Ryan Ford finish first in the men’s 8K Open/Unattached race with a time of 23:57.8. Payton Gleason ran second (24:22.4) and Charlie Michel finished third (24:24.0). Ellie Leather won the women’s Open/Unattached 5K race with a time of 17:20.9. Lydia Miller came in second (17:43.1) with Grace Oetting placing third (17:46.0).