Derby Field

After 144 Kentucky Derbys, Louisville Knows Sports

Louisville Sports Commission Press Releases

Terry Wilson wins 9th Annual Howard Schnellenberger MVP Award

Award Given to MVP on Winning Team in Annual UofL vs UK Kentucky Governor’s Cup

Louisville, Ky. – November 24, 2018 – University of Kentucky sophomore quarterback Terry Wilson was named winner of the 2018 Howard Schnellenberger MVP Award after leading the Wildcats in a 56-10 win over the University of Louisville today at Cardinal Stadium. Wilson was selected by a vote of the working media covering the game.

read more

Winners Announced for 2018 Urban Bourbon Half Marathon presented by Jim Beam®

Louisville, Ky. – October 20, 2018 – With more than 3,800 registered participants, the Louisville Sports Commission’s Urban Bourbon Half Marathon presented by Jim Beam® went off this morning under cool, cloudy skies at race start.

Zack Beavin of Lexington, Ky., won the men’s half marathon in a time of 1:12:17, barely edging out second-place finisher Adam Togami, of New Albany, Ind., who clocked a time of 1:12:44.  Beavin ran 10 miles immediately prior to the beginning of today’s race as part of his training for the California International Marathon, which acts as the U.S. Marathon Championships.

read more

UofL Sweeps Individual Honors at Louisville Sports Commission Cross Country Classic Feature Races

Michigan Women, North Central Men Dominate Team Scoring

Louisville, Ky, – September 29, 2018 – The Louisville Sports Commission Cross Country Classic, one of the largest and most prestigious college meets in the U.S., took on a local flavor this year as University of Louisville female and male runners took individual honors in the feature races while Eastern Kentucky women and University of Kentucky men took second in the feature race team scoring. One the national front, the no. 10-ranked Michigan (NCAA Division I) women’s team won the feature race in a dominating fashion and the North Central College (Naperville, Ill.) men’s team, ranked no. 1 in NCAA Division III, won the men’s feature race.

read more

Winners Announced for Louisville pure tap® 5K

Louisville, Ky. – September 8, 2018 – With nearly 1,000 registered participants, the eighth annual Louisville pure tap® 5K went off this morning under cool and cloudy conditions at race start. Race participants started and finished at the Louisville Water Tower, home of Louisville’s drinking water, and followed a course that ran east and west on River Road.

David Grieshaber of Louisville, Ky., won the men’s division in a time of 16:27.33, ahead of second-place finisher Andrew Carnes of Louisville, Ky., who clocked a time of 16:44.01. Angela Musk of Louisville, Ky. won the women’s division in 17:56.61, beating Brittany Busse of Tell City, Ind., who finished in 18:20.70.

read more

43 Players Named to 2018 Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Players accounted for more than 47,000 all-purpose yards, 294 tackles and 229 TDs in 2017

Louisville-based Texas Roadhouse to Sponsor Award for Eighth Year

Louisville, Ky. — July 26, 2018 — The Louisville Sports Commission today named 43 multi-talented college football players to the 2018 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its ninth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2019. This will be The Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

read more